culkak.blogg.se

Umder poughkeepsie journal buulding.current nuclear fallout shelter
Umder poughkeepsie journal buulding.current nuclear fallout shelter






umder poughkeepsie journal buulding.current nuclear fallout shelter

A bomb shelter will protect you if that bomb lands right near the shelter. But it's a nuclear fallout shelter rather than a nuclear bomb shelter. It was originally built so that the Hendersons could, if they ever needed to, stay in the home for up to one year without having to come to the surface. Not a lot of original Las Vegas buildings still exist, but this place is a time capsule of that '70s era. Whenever there is an event at either property, any money that is made goes into medical research work into anti-ageing and self-preservation. These two properties are owned by the non-profit. It's a non-profit that is headquartered in central Texas with another huge property there.

umder poughkeepsie journal buulding.current nuclear fallout shelter

The house is owned by a non-profit that used to be The Society for Preservation of Near Extinct Species but is now the Stasis Foundation. Read more 'We Live In A Two Storey Underground Bunker'Ī good friend of ours was involved in buying this underground house and he suggested I move in and manage it. I then had nothing to do and nowhere to live, but I had an ex-girlfriend living in Las Vegas, so I came and crashed on her sofa, looking for work. I'm actually trained as an optical scientist and engineer, but I had been taking care of my parents in their 90s for three years and it was getting difficult, so we moved them up to San Jose in northern California. About once a month the air raid siren would go off and the teacher would instruct us kids to get down under the desk and put our head into our hands.īut living in an underground bunker home was not something I ever conceived I'd do. I remembered cowering under my school desk while nuclear drills happened. The house was built in the mid '70s by businessman Girard "Jerry" Henderson as a nuclear fallout shelter for him and his family, and it definitely brought back memories from that era. Perhaps the producers toured this underground house before they created the movie sets, because that was certainly my impression: this is the Blast From The Past house. The ambience of the underground space is very much like what you see in that movie. When I first walked into the Las Vegas underground house in March 2014, it immediately reminded me of the movie Blast From The Past.








Umder poughkeepsie journal buulding.current nuclear fallout shelter